Lars von Trier Collection (1996)

Cover Art
Released 3-Apr-2007
Best Version
Region 4

Data Verified

If you create a user account, you can add your own review of this DVD
This box set consists of the following DVDs;
Breaking the Waves (1996) , The Idiots (Idioterne) (1998) , Tranceformer: A Portrait of Lars von Trier (1997)

For two decades Lars von Trier has re-defined European cinema with his ground-breaking films, Breaking The Waves (1996) to The Idiots (1998) - both included in this collection - Dancer In The Dark (2000), Dogville (2003) and Manderlay (2006). Von Trier led the radical "Dogma 95" film movement - a collection of directors committed to low budget filmmaking utilizing location shooting in natural light and use of hand-held cameras - and this stunning collection features two of his best-known and provocative films; in addition to a fascinating documentary on the filmmaking life of the great Danish auteur.

Reviews Glitches RPI
Disc Rating
Steve C
Nil known
Emily Watson
Stellan Skarsgård
Katrin Cartlidge
Jean-Marc Barr
Adrian Rawlins
Jonathan Hackett
Sandra Voe
Bodil Jørgensen
Jens Albinus
Anne Louise Hassing
Troels Lyby
Nikolaj Lie Kaas
Louise Mieritz
Directed by
Lars von Trier
Stig Björkman
Ian Anderson
Johann Sebastian Bach
Genre Year Running Time Format Region Coding Multi
Disc (3)
Various 1996 315:16 (Case: 314) 576i (PAL) 4
Widescreen Varies, 16x9 Enhanced
Full Frame
Dolby Digital 5.1 (384Kb/s), Dolby Digital 2.0 (192Kb/s), Dolby Digital 2.0 (192Kb/s), Dolby Digital 2.0 (224Kb/s), Dolby Digital 2.0 (192Kb/s)
Main Menu Audio, Audio Commentary-Lars Von Trier (Director) And Anders Refn (Editor), Deleted Scenes, Featurette-Emily Watson's Casting, With Optional Commentary, Interviews-Cast-Adrian Rawlins (Actor), Theatrical Trailer, Main Menu Audio, Notes-Dogme Manifesto, Gallery-Stills, Filmographies-Crew-Lars Von Trier (Director), Theatrical Trailer, Trailer-Breaking The Waves, Insomnia, Orlando, Trailer-The Draughtsman's Contract
Censorship/Version Notes
No Censorship/Version notes available for this title