Dekalog (1989)

Cover Art
Released 8-Jun-2010
Best Version
Region 4

Data Verified

If you create a user account, you can add your own review of this DVD
Krzystof Kieslowski is best known for the Three Colours Trilogy, but Dekalog may be regarded as Kieslowski's masterpiece. This tour de force was the culmination of Kieslowski's work in his native Poland and arguably the last cinematic milestone to come out of Communist Eastern Europe.

Dekalog consists of ten stand-alone features based on the Ten Commandments. The stories are set in the same Warsaw apartment block and focus on the complexities of human relationships. Kieslowski's themes are universal" love, marriage, infidelity, parenthood, guilt, faith and compassion.

Dekalog 1 - "Thou shalt have no other gods before me"

Dekalog 2 - "Thou shalt not take the Lord's name in vain"

Dekalog 3 - "Thou shalt remember the Sabbath and keep it holy"

Dekalog 4 - "Thou shalt honor thy father and mother"

Dekalog 5 - "Thou shalt not kill"

Dekalog 6 - "Thou shalt not commit adultery"

Dekalog 7 - "Thou shalt not steal"

Dekalog 8 - "Thou shalt not bear false witness"

Dekalog 9 - "Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour's wife"

Dekalog 10 - "Though shalt not covet thy neighbour's goods"
Reviews Glitches RPI
Link To Internet Movie Database Disc Rating
Steve C
Nil known
Artur Barcis
Olgierd Lukaszewicz
Olaf Lubaszenko
Piotr Machalica
Jan Tesarz
Katarzyna Piwowarczyk
Henryk Baranowski
Krystyna Janda
Aleksander Bardini
Stanislaw Gawlik
Krzysztof Kumor
Maciej Szary
Directed by
Krzysztof Kieslowski
Zbigniew Preisner
Genre Year Running Time Format Region Coding Multi
Disc (4)
Drama 1989 555:39 (Case: 616) 576i (PAL) 1 2 3 4 5 6
No Video Data available for this title
Polish Dolby Digital 2.0 mono (224Kb/s)
English (Burned In)
Main Menu Audio, Featurette-I'm So-So (55 min Documentary)
Censorship/Version Notes
No Censorship/Version notes available for this title