The Thief of Bagdad (1924) (Force)

Disk Doctor
Cover Art
Released 17-Dec-2002
Best Version
Region 1

Data Verified

If you create a user account, you can add your own review of this DVD
One of the truly great silent films of the nineteen-twenties was The Thief of Bagdad directed by Raoul Walsh. Made in 1924 it featured Douglas Fairbanks as producer and also starring as the happy-go-lucky Ahmed the Thief.
Ahmed can easily acquire all he wants until he is beguiled by a beautiful Princess. To win her hand he must prove himself to be worthier than her other suitor, the villainous Mongol Prince, who has a slave-girl spy. To this end he has to overcome the Valley of Fire, the Vale of Dragons, the Cavern of the Enchanted Trees, the Old Man of the Midnight Sea and the Abode of the Winged Horse; with many daring acrobatic skills and the aid of new, startling special effects including a magic rope and a magic chest, until his princess finally flies away with to the land of happiness on a magic carpet.
This is one of the most imaginative of all silent films; a magical page from an Arabian Nights-style adventure that included examples of the then popular German Expressionist techniques - a film that lived long in the memory and was to influence many subsequent fantasy-style productions.
This version has been digitally remastered from a 35mm negative and carefully tinted in the style of the period with a musical score by Gaylord Carter based on the original cues.
Reviews Glitches RPI
Link To Internet Movie Database Disc Rating
Philip S
2 More Reviews
Nil known
Douglas Fairbanks
Julanne Johnston
Snitz Edwards
Charles Belcher
Anna May Wong
Brandon Hurst
Tite Du Crow
Directed by
Raoul Walsh
Mortimer Wilson
Genre Year Running Time Format Region Coding RSDL
Adventure 1924 139:39 576i (PAL) 1 2 3 4 5 6
Full Frame
English Dolby Digital 2.0 (224Kb/s)
Main Menu Introduction, Menu Animation & Audio, Featurette-The Thief Of Bagdad - "A Film Essay", Biographies-Cast-Douglas Fairbanks
Censorship/Version Notes
No Censorship/Version notes available for this title