Ozu Yasujiro (Directors Suite)

Cover Art
Released 15-Dec-2010
Best Version

Data Not Verified

If you create a user account, you can add your own review of this DVD
This box set consists of the following DVDs;
Tokyo Story (Tokyo monogatari) (1953) , Autumn Afternoon, An (Sanma no Aji) (1962) , Early Summer (Bakushű) (1951) , Floating Weeds (Ukigusa) (Directors Suite) (1959) , Ohayo (Directors Suite) (1959) , The Flavour of Green Tea Over Rice (Ochazuke no aji) (Directors Suite) (1952) , Late Spring (Banshun) (Directors Suite) (1949)

Seven films by Ozu Yasujiro

Akira Kurosawa, Kenji Mizoguchi, Yasujiro Ozu. Of the three master filmmakers who introduced Japanese cinema to the West, Ozu is often considered the most Japanese. Focussing on the conflict between ‘old’ and ‘new’ values, and the nature of family within the rapidly modernising post-war Japan, Ozu’s films are renowned for their gentle pace, humour and compassion. His unique visual style—which consists of positioning his camera at ground level and an avoidance of dissolves or camera movement—has coalesced into the definitive Ozu aesthetic. These visual techniques, combined with his singular narrative focus, have resulted in films of great beauty, so that Ozu’s artistic voice transcends cultural lines.

Replete with audio commentaries and documentaries on Ozu’s career and influence, this beautiful boxset collects together seven of Ozu’s masterpieces, including his Noriko trilogy starring the luminous Setsuko Hara.

Reviews Glitches RPI
Disc Rating
No Reviews Yet
Nil known
Directed by
Genre Year Running Time Format Region Coding Multi
Disc (8)
Drama ? ? ? 4
No Video Data available for this title
No Audio Data available for this title
Censorship/Version Notes
No Censorship/Version notes available for this title